top of page

Some colorful language...

While I can be known for a snappy phrase here and there, this article is less about that and more about .... Colors. Many of us have had someone tell us at some point that we are a "Spring" or a "Fall" and as such we try to keep that in mind when we shop for clothes. And over time, we tend to veer off that path and next thing you know we have what looks like a closet full of clothes FOR SOMEONE ELSE!!? I get it. I am here because I am the guiltiest ( word? IDK. most guilty? I just type... ) of all. I have a heap of dusty pink and blush colored tops. That's just dandy except I always look tired in those choices. Truth be told, dusty colors look really bad on me, I just never thought much of it. So many people wear those colors beautifully, and I just figured I'd follow them! Then, over the summer I thought " How grown up of me if I were to have a closet of clothing that I actually like and wear. Things which fit and flatter but not too many things because that's also a pain. " I stared at my closet and just walked away. The money I have spent on 'deals' and end of season clearance.... and there it hangs. I have now re-committed myself to some sort of organized approach. Everything feels 'off''. I put myself to task of understanding skin undertones, hair color, eye color and contrast amongst all the above. This led me to a label: Clear Spring. Ok then. What's that? Now what? I went on a hunt to find color choices which pull together with Clear Spring. And lo and behold what did I learn? Clear Spring should avoid Heathered, Grays and Muted colors!! HEY, Dusty Rose, Im looking at you! Let me stop myself right here with this: If you have pieces you love and you feel pretty and confident in them, then WEAR THEM. The point of my post here is to say if you're like me and you feel like everything has come undone and your look is not exactly poppin', then we make a few adjustments to get you where you want to be! Once I sorted out my season/undertones/contrast, etc, I got to work to see what clothing colors I should gravitate toward. This also included selecting a base color ( black or navy usually ) I not only want 'my' colors, but a good selection of base pieces and overall I want fewer pieces of clothing in my closet. Yes, I am at that point in my life where I just want less stuff, and only the things which add value to my life.( Side eye Dusty Rose again) Then, having determined my clothing pallet, I sorted out my makeup selections. You don't want to wear 'your color' from head to toe and all over your face. I mean you CANNNNNN. But let's not. It is about balance. And dignity, for the love.... So picture this: a Fresh foundation and mascara, an eye, lip and cheek color ( customized) Your basic wardrobe essentials for the season ( classics) Some fun pieces in your colors and some new to you choices ( Trends) And a plan for how to build on it, seasonally.

What I came up with is a blue print just for me! My foundation shade, eye shadows, cheek and lip colors, and clothing colors to compliment my skin and hair. In theory this should make shopping easier, but know we will sometimes still be drawn to trends and seasonal things just because they are yummy and we are feeling festive.

I plan to keep a purse sized version of my blueprint on me when I shop. I have adopted the 'shop for outfits' philosophy, rather than picking up random pieces here and there. Same budget, different approach. Now instead of coming home with 3 tops and a bracelet, I come home with a top, an accessory, and pants/shorts/leggings or sweater. (Shoes are a whole other topic!) My budget is modest, my aesthetic is casual most of the time. I don't chase labels. Do I need it? Do I want it? Is it for me? I once purchased a black and white zebra sequin blazer ( I am not even joking) in 90 degree heat of Dallas in July at a seminar because other people were wearing them. We do not do these things any longer. ( Speaking of shopping, in a future post we will uncover some online boutiques and some brick and mortar favorites, even Walmart and Amazon, just in time for fall and winter shopping and holidays, too!) What about you? Do you have your pallet sorted, and feeling pretty confident and snazzy? Or have you recently changed your hair color, or gone gray and your whole look sort of shifted into the middle zone of the non descript? Are you confident taking 'your' season and applying it year round? It can be a little tricky until you know what to do. Then its just fun and you start to see your colors on EV-ER-Y-THING! Whatever your monthly budget, I can help you whether you need a simple adjustment or a whole reset! It all starts with a quiz and a quick 1 on 1 chat. Comment below with your more ridiculous clothing purchase and if you have redeemed yourself by now!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Skin Care and Rosacea

Disclaimer: Rosacea and acne are medical conditions which require a medical diagnosis from a physician. This article is not intended to provide medical advice, it is to support your shopping and help

Welcome to my Planet!

Hello, Friend! I am so glad you're here! "What is happening here??" , you ask? Well..... let me explain.... Patti's Planet is a place for every woman who has ever felt interested in makeup and sk

bottom of page